An Away Goal in a Tied Game Brings the Bulls to the Round of 16

UEFA Europa League 2018/19. Round of 32. Second leg. Bayer 04 Leverkusen (Germany) 1-1 FC Krasnodar (Russia)

Bayer 04 Leverkusen (Germany) 1-1 (0-0) FC Krasnodar (Russia)

Goals: Suleymanov, 84 (0-1, free kick), Aránguiz, 87 (1-1).

Bayer 04 Leverkusen (Germany): Hrádecký, Wendell, Dragović (Thelin, 86), Tah, Weiser, Aránguiz, Brandt, Havertz (Baumgartlinger, 66), Bailey, Volland, Alario.

FC Krasnodar (Russia): Safonov, Petrov, Spajić, Martynovich, Ramírez, Kaboré, Olsson (Gazinsky, 60), Pereyra, Wanderson, Claesson (Stotsky, 78), Ignatyev (Suleymanov, 70).

Yellow cards: Dragović, 42 (foul play) – Olsson, 37 (foul play), Pereyra, 81 (foul play), Stotsky, 90+3 (unsporting behaviour).

Referees: Mažeika, Šimkus, Kazlauskas, Rumšas, Valikonis (all Lithuania).

21 February 2019. Germany. Leverkusen. BayArena Stadium. Cloudy. 10 degrees. 16084 spectators.

In the second leg of the UEL Round of 32 tie staged in Leverkusen, Germany, FC Krasnodar looked very confident. The Bulls had three solid chances to open the score in the first half, but they wasted all of them. In the second half the home team beat the visitors in terms of the territorial control, but the black-green keeper Safonov played well between the sticks, hence the scoring chances next to his goal were not that many.

The fate of the game was decided at the death. Pereyra earned a free kick on the 84th minute, and Magomed-Shapi Suleymanov produced a super accurate shot sending the ball into the bottom corner of the goal guarded by Hrádecký. Die Werkself did manage to score an equalizer right away. A corner kick was served three minutes later, and Charles Aránguiz sneaked up on a rebound and took an unsavable shot. In the time that remained the Krasnodar players did not allow the German team to achieve more, therefore it was the team led by Murad Musayev who advanced to the Round of 16 due to an away goal. The Bulls will get to know who they will play against in the next round after a draw to be held in Switzerland on 22 February at 15.00 (MSK).